August 30, 2014

Subscriber Login

20 inducted into Vantage National Technical Honor Society PDF Print E-mail
Friday, December 14, 2012 1:57 PM

Twenty outstanding Vantage seniors were recently selected as members of the Vantage chapter of the National Technical Honor Society.  They were introduced and inducted at the annual NTHS banquet on December 11, 2012, held in the new Commons Area.  In addition to the guests of honor, parents, home school principals and counselors, and Vantage teachers and administrators attended the banquet to recognize this elite group of students.

The main purpose of the National Technical Honor Society is to reward scholastic achievement in career technical education. Membership encourages skill development, honesty, service, leadership, citizenship, and individual responsibility. In addition, students are selected for membership in NTHS as a reward for excellence in workforce education; to develop self-esteem, pride and encourage students to reach for higher levels of achievement; and to promote business and industry’s critical workplace values - honesty, responsibility, initiative, teamwork, productivity, leadership, and citizenship. 

NTHS membership is the highest award for excellence in career technical education and is a reliable indicator of performance and leadership in the workplace. Students who achieved a 3.5 grade point average or better, while maintaining a 95 percent attendance rate at Vantage, were eligible to apply for membership. In addition to submitting a resume and writing an essay stating why they would like to be a part of the NTHS, the students also were required to obtain three teacher recommendations.

Students selected for membership in the National Technical Honor Society for the 2012-13 school year are Mac Kensey Bendele (Ottoville), building and grounds; Caleb Blankemeyer (Lincolnview), precision machining; Matt Burgei (Ottoville), industrial mechanics; Nicholas Dealey (Crestview), ag and industrial power technology; Joshua Dempsey (Crestview), auto body; Cody Dugan (Parkway), industrial mechanics; Cora Finfrock (Crestview), culinary arts; Destiny Hines (Van Wert), cosmetology; Darian Guilmette (Continental), health technology; Tiffany Hittle (Wayne Trace), cosmetology; Zachary Miller (Ottoville), industrial mechanics; Alyssa Odenweller (Kalida), Cosmetology; Jody Richey (Lincolnview), Welding; Tressa Ringwald (Lincolnview), interactive media; Spencer Schaadt (Lincolnview), precision machining; Samantha Spangler (Wayne Trace), auto technology; Mikayla Stetler (Parkway), medical office management; Alexandria Strickland (Lincolnview), carpentry; Kayla Warnimont (Paulding), cosmetology; and Luke Wrasman (St. Johns), industrial mechanics.


Add comment

Security code