September 1, 2014

Subscriber Login

NWC announces baseball, softball All-Conference teams PDF Print E-mail
Monday, May 20, 2013 10:44 PM

The Delphos Herald


DELPHOS — The Northwest Conference coaches voted for the league’s baseball and softball All-Conference teams Monday night at Jefferson HIgh School.

A tie in the voting by baseball coaches resulted in the selection of Co-Players of the Year for the 2013 baseball season. Matt Jay, a senior catcher from Columbus Grove, and Damian Helm, a junior pitcher/outfielder from Crestview, both tallied 174 points out of a possible total of 180 to share the POY honors.

Crestview’s Jim Wharton was the unanimous selection of his peers as the Coach of the Year. Wharton led the Knights to a 9-0 record and an outright NWC championship.

Jay hit .500 for the conference-runnerup Bulldogs, scored 27 runs, had 37 hits and 36 RBIs. Helm was 7-0 on the mound for the Knights with a sparking 0.49 ERA. He struck out 62 batters and walked only three in 42 2/3 innings; he also hit .359 and had a .410 on-base percentage.

Jay was joined on the First Team by Columbus Grove teammates Trey Roney (senior pitcher/1B; 123) and senior shortstop Brandon Benroth (99). Helm is joined by Crestview junior teammate Bryce Richardson (shortstop/pitcher; 139).

Other first-team players are junior Colin Stolly (pitcher/shortstop; 164) and Sam Huffman (senior pitcher/center field; 134) of Lima Central Catholic, Jefferson senior rightfielder/pitcher Drew Kortokrax (128), junior shortstop Trent Phillips of Bluffton (112) and sophomore outfielder Tanner Stippich (90) of Allen East.


Second-teamers were Crestview senior first sacker Jake Harmon (89); juniors Chris McClain (pitcher/1B; 73) and Drake Lugibuhl (centerfield; 35) of Bluffton; LCC seniors Nick Watkins (pitcher/infielder; 73) and catcher Connor Dee (42); Jefferson junior Ross Thompson (shortstop/pitcher; 70); Paulding juniors Quentin Vance (outfielder; 65) and Kyle Kauser (outfielder/pitcher; 53); and senior shortstop Nick Leeth (64) and junior pitcher Eli Farmer (36) of Lincolnview.


Honorable Mention - Crestview: Cam Etzler (junior outfield/shortstop; 34) and Isaiah Simerman (junior third base/pitcher; 8); Allen East: Erik Neely (sophomore infielder/pitcher; 19), Braden Goodwin (sophomore pitcher/catcher; 8) and Derek Ketchum (senior outfielder; 8); Spencerville: Joel Shimp (senior pitcher/first base; 18) and Sean Monfort (senior rightfielder; 15); Columbus Grove: Blake Hoffman (senior centerfielder; 15) and Brady Shafer (senior rightfielder; 14); LCC: Corey O’Dowd (aenior outfielder; 12); Ada: Austin Cobb (senior pitcher/shortstop; 10); Lincolnview: Kyle Williams (junior outfielder; 1).

Those with no points: Ada: Brayden Sautter (freshman SS/2B); Bluffton: Nathan Risner (senior P/1B); Columbus Grove: Elisha Jones (sophomore P); Crestview: Nate Owens (sophomore C); LCC: Ben Stolly (senior 1B) and Drew Jennings (junior 2B/3B); Paulding: Michael Bauer (senior IF) and Javier Gonzales (junior IF/P).

In softball, LCC junior pitcher/third baseman Meredith Shepherd and Kevin Wilkerson swept the Player and Coach of the Year awards.

Shepherd, a 2-time first-team all-conference selectee, hit .542 this year for the Lady Thunderbirds with a team-high 39 hits, five home runs and 25 RBIs. She was also 10-4 as a pitcher with an ERA of 2.10 She received 175 of a possible 180 points to edge Kirstin Hicks of Crestview (junior first baseman/pitcher; 170) for POY honors.

Wilkerson led LCC to a 7-2 conference record and a 3-way share of the NWC championship with Crestview and Lincolnview.

Shepherd was joined on the First Team by LCC teammate Sydney Santaguida (sophomore shortstop; 82). Hicks is joined by Crestview teammate Terra Crowle (sophomore pitcher/first baseman; 123). Others were Bobbi Heckel (senior pitcher; 151) of Columbus Grove, senior Kaitlin Brant (second base; 136) and junior pitcher Ashley McClure (114) of Lincolnview, junior Tori Johnston (third base/pitcher; 108) of Spencerville, freshman catcher Kelsey Beck (97) of Paulding and senior middle infielder Madison Schantz (90) of Allen East.

On the second unit were Lincolnview’s Jodie Doner (senior centerfielder; 78) and senior catcher Lauren Calvert (64) of Lincolnview; Allen East junior catcher Erin Conkle (76); Ada junior catcher Ashley Windle (69): Bluffton senior Adrian Rumer (first/third base; 61) and senior shortstop Katie Palte (54); Spencerville junior catcher Haleigh Mull (58); Columbus Grove sophomore third sacker Hope Schroeder (54); Meredith Neise (junior centerfielder; 41) of LCC; and Crestview junior third sacker Brooke Bowen (39).

Honorable Mention - Jefferson: Hannah Sensibaugh (junior third baseman; 28) and senior pitcher Taylor Branham (10); Spencerville: Alex Shumate (freshman pitcher/outfielder; 23), senior shortstop Alyssa Mulholland (17) and sophomore Mackenzie Ringwald (centerfielder/third base; 8); Allen East: Kaycee Rowe (junior pitcher/shortstop; 22), sophomore Audrey Rodriguez (third/first base/shortstop; 14) and junior pitcher Aubren Davis (5); Columbus Grove: Katie Roose (junior catcher; 20); Crestview: Mackenzie Riggenbach (sophomore shortstop; 17); Paulding: Morgan Riley (sophomore third base; 16), junior shortstop Jerika Bland (15) and senior Breana Schmidt (DP/first base; 13); Lincolnview: Julia Thatcher (sophomore rightfielder; 15) and sophomore leftfielder Devann Springer (3); Ada: Kendra Paul (senior third baseman; 14), senior first baseman Samantha Wildman (8) and sophomore Alexis Amburgey (pitcher/shortstop; 1); LCC: Kayla Verhoff (sophomore first base; 10) and sophomore catcher Casey Clark (1).

Those with no points - Jefferson: Fallon Van Dyke (senior CF) and junior Jasmine McDougall (junior 1B); Lincolnview: Baylee Neate (sophomore SS); Columbus Grove: Kyrah Yinger (freshman SS); Crestview: Haley Helm (freshman 2B) and Mariah Henry (senior OF); Allen East: Kylie Wyss (freshman CF/1B); Paulding: Emily Farr (junior P).

Last Updated on Wednesday, May 22, 2013 12:36 AM

Add comment

Security code