August 22, 2014

Subscriber Login

Fort Jennings Envirothon Team state runner-up PDF Print E-mail
Monday, June 17, 2013 4:14 PM

Information submitted


The Fort Jennings Envirothon team recently competed at the State Envirothon competition held at Deer Creek State Park in Pickaway County. One hundred and twenty students from 17 different high schools, representing every part of the state, competed June 10 and 11. The annual event is an outdoor competition that tests student’s knowledge of soil, forestry, wildlife, aquatic ecology, and current environmental issues. This year’s theme was Pasture/Rangeland Management.


The team from Fort Jennings placed second out of the top 20 teams at the state competition. They actually tied for first place out of the 600 points possible but lost out on the tie breaker which was the scores on the presentation portion of the competition. The winning team from Chardon High School won the right to attend the Canon North American Envirothon in Montana in August. This is the 16th year that Fort Jennings has had an Envirothon team and the 16th straight year that Fort Jennings has advanced to state competition. The top four teams from the Area competition held in April qualify for the state contest.


?Fort Jennings Evirothon Team Two includes, from left, Alan Fischbach, Keri Eickholt, Sarah Hellman, Dillon Schimmoeller and Caleb Bankey. (Submitted file photo)Students compete by answering questions as a team at field test sites and prepare a short oral presentation on the theme of the year. Monday morning and afternoon are spent at the test site working on the tests and for four hours Monday evening the teams work on preparing their presentations which must include visual displays also. The team advisors are not allowed to be with their team at any of the testing or preparing times. Tuesday, the teams are assigned a time to give their presentation in front of a three judge panel that includes local resource people, EPA representatives, local government officials, or Ohio Department of Natural Resource personnel. An awards banquet is held on Tuesday afternoon with the winner representing Ohio at the North American Canon Envirothon.

The Fort Jennings Team 1 members include Jake Young, Morgan Ricker, Jared Hoersten, Logan Sickels and Alex Sealts. They are advised by Jeff Jostpille.

Fort Jennings Team II also was eligible to attend the state competition and finished 14th. Team members include Caleb Bankey, Keri Eickholt, Sarah Hellman, Jeremy Smith and Allen Fischbach.

Last Updated on Monday, June 17, 2013 10:03 PM

Add comment

Security code