September 2, 2014

Subscriber Login

Indians Masterson, Giambi win postseason awards PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, December 08, 2013 9:27 PM


Associated Press


CLEVELAND — Indians pitcher Justin Masterson and designated hitter Jason Giambi have been honored with postseason awards.

Masterson, who went 14-10 with a 3.45 ERA in 32 starts, has been named the team's Bob Feller Man of the Year by the Cleveland Chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Masterson made the All-Star team for the first time and helped the Indians qualify for the postseason. The right-hander led the AL with three shutouts and was tied for second with three complete games.

All-Star second baseman Jason Kipnis, outfielder Michael Brantley and pitcher Ubaldo Jimenez were also nominated.

Giambi was named winner of the team's Good Guy Award, given annually to the player who shows a consistent willingness to cooperate with the media. Masterson, manager Terry Francona, infielder Mike Aviles and outfielder Michael Bourn were also nominated.

The 42-year-old Giambi has re-signed with Cleveland.


Add comment

Security code