September 2, 2014

Subscriber Login

Jennings board reinstates Schimmoeller as president PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, January 02, 2014 9:00 PM


Staff Writer

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


FORT JENNINGS — The Fort Jennings School Board held its 2014 re-organizational meeting Thursday night and reinstated Karl Schimmoeller as board president.

Schimmoeller appointed Cliff Weiging as the new vice president of the school board. This is Weiging’s second term as vice president.

New board member Tim Fitzpatrick was sworn in. There is one additional open board position which will be appointed during the next board meeting.

Additionally, Schimmoeller appointed the following committees: Legislative Liaison for the OSBA Network, himself; Building, Weiging and Aaron Ricker; Negotiations, himself and Weiging; Small School District Advisory Committee Delegate, Fitzpatrick; Small School District Advisory Committee Alternate, Ricker; Audit Committee, himself; and Student Achievement Liaison, Fitzpatrick.

Monthly board meetings were set for 7:30 p.m. on the third Wednesday of each month.

Members approved the rate of compensation for Treasurer Valerie Maag, as provided in ORC 3313.12, which was established by the board.

A handful of resolutions were passed during the meeting. The first resolution was to authorize Maag to request advances of tax settlements, invest active and interim funds, to pay bills as they are presented, to report monthly to the board of education and the authority to transfer funds with later approval.

Board members also designated Cheryl Schnipke, Mary Jean Schweller, Teresa Wurst and Marianne VonSossan as cashiers permitting them to make daily bank deposits for the 2014 school year.

Members approved the establishment of a service fund for the board and re-appointed Superintendent Nicholas Langhals as the purchasing agent with a limit of $25,000. Langhals served as the purchasing agent in 2013.

In addition, Weiging was appointed Vantage board member for a 3-year term.

Langhals was also given the authorization to approve staff members’ attendance at appropriately-called professional meetings.

The next board meeting will be held in the school library at 7:30 p.m. on Jan. 13.


Add comment

Security code