August 20, 2014

Subscriber Login

Jays honor football players with banquet PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, January 22, 2014 9:24 PM

Information submitted


DELPHOS — Members of the 2013 St. John’s football team gathered one last time together to honor their accomplishments on and off the field.

Head coach Todd Schulte said “that I’ve been at St. John’s for 15 years and this was my most fulfilling year ever. To go from a team that started 2-4 all the way to the state semifinals was truly amazing.”

Football seniors that were awarded third-year varsity letters included Luke MacLennan, Cody Looser and Division VII offensive player of the year Tyler Jettinghoff. Second-year senior varsity letters went to Spencer Ginter, Ryan Shumaker and Nate Schroeder. Finally, seniors earning their first varsity award were: Andy May, Quinn Wise, Ben Wrasman,

Jason Wittler and Kellen Schomaeker.

The 2013 team captains which were elected by the players were MacLennan, Jettinghoff, Schomaeker and Ginter.

The junior class had nine football players earning first-year varsity awards, including: Nick Martz, Brian Pohlman, Austin Heiing, James Harrison, Zach Fischer, Tyler Conley, Austin Schulte, Alex Haunhorst and Garrett Nagel. A pair of juniors earned second-year honors in Evan Hays and Wes Buettner.

The underclassmen were represented as well with sophomores Jordan Mohler, Evan Mohler and Trent Closson earning first-year varsity letters. Jaret Jackson won as a freshman.

Honored for academic achievement off the field was varsity cheerleader Megan Fish. Academic M.A.C. awards were awarded to: Ginter, Schomaeker, Wise, Hays, Heiing, Evan Mohler and manager/trainer Kaitlyn Slate.

Wrasman had a 3.8 GPA but did not receive an award due to a technical oversight.

In order to earn academic honors, a student must be at least a sophomore, earn a varsity letter and have 3.5 G.P.A. or better.

Coach Schulte decided that this year “he wasn’t handing out individual M.V.P. awards. This year, we were a team that pulled together after a terrible start and went on a great run together as a team. The M.V.P. this year is the entire team not an individual.”

The Mr. Fitness Award went to running back MacLennan. The Pancake Award was presented to offensive lineman Ginter with a total of 19 pancake blocks. The final award of the evening was the Ann Tuohy Integrity Award which was presented

to Schomaeker for his leadership on and off of the field.


Add comment

Security code