August 23, 2014

Subscriber Login

2014 Jefferson Awards Program kicks off PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, January 23, 2014 9:14 PM

Information submitted


LIMA — Nominations for the prestigious Jefferson Awards for Public Service are now being accepted until noon on Feb. 26. The program, now in its 14th year, is an opportunity to recognize outstanding volunteers who produce positive changes in the community. The program is open to Allen, Auglaize, Putnam, Hardin, Hancock and Van Wert counties.

New to the Jefferson Awards this year is major sponsor Husky Lima Refinery.


“There is an impressive spirit of volunteerism in our community,” says Vice President and General Manager Roy Warnock. “The Jefferson Awards provide a great opportunity to reward local people who show initiative and dedication to their cause of choice.”


Once nominations are submitted, a panel of 10 judges will select eight local winners to be honored at a banquet on March 25. One will advance to the national level, representing the area at a national ceremony next June in Washington, D.C.

The eight local winners will each receive $350 for the organization they volunteer with. The individual who advances to the national competition will receive an additional $700 for their favorite organization.

Nomination forms are available at the United Way of Greater Lima, 616 South Collett St., Lima; at; at Your Hometown Lima Stations, 1424 Rice Ave., Lima; and

All nominations must be mailed to the following address:

The Jefferson Awards

United Way of Greater Lima

616 S. Collett St.

Lima OH 45805

The Jefferson Awards for Public Service was founded in 1972 by Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, Senator Robert Taft, Jr. and Sam Beard to establish a national recognition for, and encouragement of, outstanding community and public service. Jefferson Awards are presented on two levels — local and national. On the local level, recipients are volunteers who do extraordinary things without expectation of recognition or reward. Past local winners include Estella Adams, Dr. Gene Wright and Sandy Monfort, among others. Past national winners include familiar names such as Walter Cronkite, Bob Hope and Oprah Winfrey.

Last Updated on Thursday, January 23, 2014 9:23 PM

Add comment

Security code