September 2, 2014

Subscriber Login

From the Archives — May 12, 2014 PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, May 11, 2014 8:00 PM

One Year Ago

Ottoville Schools held its 8th annual Cancer Walk Friday. Inclement weather kept activities indoors but students, faculty and community members made the most of the day. Seniors Abby Siefker, Rachel Beining, Aubrey Rieger, Ashley Wehri and Casey Miller were in charge of orchestrating events.


25 Years Ago – 1989

Students from Franklin, St. John’s and Landeck schools spent time outdoors Wednesday at Stadium Park. Demonstrations and workshops on water-erosion, wildlife and soil conservation were presented by representatives of Allen County Soil Conservation office. Participating in a soil conservation demonstration were Franklin students Chad Stemen, Andy Hoffman, Jason Fischer, Kelly Buzard, Reid Salupo and Tonia Kesler.

Green Thumb Garden Club will meet at noon Monday at the Carriage Inn for a luncheon and meeting. The business meeting will be conducted by President Mrs. Ken Molyneaux. Club members will then adjourn to Kendricks Woods for a board walk to view wild flowers. A lecture will be conducted by Marge Luedeke.

Freshmen and sophomores from Jefferson High School participated recently in the Greater Toledo Council of Teachers of Mathematics. Participants in algebra I and geometry included Nikki Siefker who placed 10th in geometry; Derek Craig placed 20th in algebra I; Amber Daulbaugh, 17th in algebra I; Julie Robinson, 11th in algebra I; Brian Corzine, 17th in geometry; Scott Jackson, 13th in geometry; Adrian Smith, 20th in algebra I; and Glen Renner, 14th in geometry.

50 Years Ago – 1964

Honored guests at Landeck’s school assembly this past week were Allen County’s Secondary Curriculum Coordinator Lloyd W. Reese and his wife, together with Ruby Kephart, the elementary curriculum coordinator. Mr. Reese presented the spelling certificate for this spring’s Spelling Bee to school champion and county runner-up, Patricia Wienken, and to Louise Pothast, the school’s runner-up.

St. John’s Catholic Church held its annual May Crowning service Sunday afternoon with girls and boys of grades four through eight taking part in the procession. Queen Elaine Grubenhoff placed a crown on the statue of the Blessed Virgin Mary during the impressive service. Joseph Myers served as crown bearer.

Barbara Bowersock was elected president of the Marion Baptist young group during a meeting held Saturday night at the home of Rev. and Mrs. Milo Williams in Van Wert. Assisting Barbara during the coming year will be Connie Thornton, vice president; Jerry Owens, secretary, and Bernard Stockton, treasurer.

75 Years Ago – 1939

The Delphos committee in charge of proposed WPA projects went to Toledo Wednesday to confer with William B. Schmuhl, WPA director in the Toledo district. The meeting was held with regard to the type of swimming pool that can be constructed in Delphos. Those present at the meeting from Delphos were Mayor D. L. Baringer, Service Director Charles Myers, E. O. Steinle, Otto Birkmeier, Leo Odenweller, John Marsh, Jr., and T. J. Laudick.

A number of Delphos people were in Van Wert Wednesday night to witness the selection of Queen Jubilee the Eighth for the annual Van Wert People Festival to be held June 8 at Van Wert. Bette Joan Jones, representing York Centralized School was named queen. Carolyn Dukes of Delphos Jefferson, represented that school in the contest.

“Handel, Hayden and Mozart” were discussed at the regular meeting of the Beta Delphian Chapter held Wednesday evening in the office of the Ohio Power Company. Mrs. J. Russell Critchett served as leader. Hortense Metcalfe presented the preliminary discussion.


Add comment

Security code