August 22, 2014

Subscriber Login

Van Wert Soil and Water Conservation District Special Election set PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, November 08, 2012 12:44 PM

The Van Wert Soil and Water Conservation District will hold a special election for District Board of Supervisors in conjunction with the district’s 63rd annual meeting on Nov. 15. Two board members will be elected to a three-year term of office.
County residents and landowners have three options for casting a ballot:
• Call or visit the SWCD office, (419) 238-9591 ext 101, 1185 Professional Drive, Van Wert to request an absentee ballot through Friday;
• Cast a ballot at the district office Oct. 26 through close of business Nov. 14; or
• Cast a ballot at the annual meeting, Nov. 15 at Vantage Career Center.
Candidates in this year’s special election are Darryl Ricketts, Tim Waltz, Gary Weck.

Ricketts, wife Ginny and daughter Tiffany reside in Liberty Township. He also has three stepchildren and nine stepgrandchildren. Darryl has been farming since 1985 and farms 970 acres. The Ricketts’ attend Olive Branch Church of God. He is a member of Farm Bureau, Ohio Soybean Association and the “Oliver Gang” Tractor Club.

Waltz and wife, Lori, reside in Pleasant Township. They have four grown children and one grandson. He cash grain farms with his brother. The Waltz’ attend Chapel United Methodist Church. He is a member of Farm Bureau and Professional Farmers of America.

Weck and wife Barbara reside in Willshire Township. They have four grown children: Terry, Connie, Karen and Cathy. He cash grain farms. They are members of the New Horizon Church. He is a Farm Bureau member, serves as a director for the Ohio Federation of Soil & Water Conservation Districts for the past 14 years and has served on the SWCD Board for 24 years.

Van Wert SWCD, established in 1949 is a legal subdivision of state government that provides natural resource management assistance to county landowners and other units of local government. The district is funded by the Van Wert county commissioners, and county funds are supplemented by funding from  the  Ohio  Department of Natural Resources.

The district  is  governed by a five-member board of county residents. Board members serve staggered three-year terms.


Add comment

Security code