August 20, 2014

Subscriber Login

It Was News Then PDF Print E-mail
Monday, November 12, 2012 11:54 AM

One Year Ago
• The Canal Days Committee doled out proceeds for the 2011 event on Wednesday. Committee member Jim “Buge” Grothouse presented a check to Delphos Police Chief Kyle Fitro as Canal Commission Museum Trustee Marilyn Wagner accepted a check from Eric Fritz. Committee member Diane Sterling presented a check to Delphos Boy Scout Scoutmaster Steve Heiing. Also receiving checks were Kiwanis, Community Christmas Project, Delphos Stadium Club, D.A.R.E. Program and Delphos Fire Association.

25 Years Ago — 1987
• Eight members of the Elida Future Farmers of America will attend the National FFA convention. Jay Vincent of the Commercial Bank, Elida Branch, presented a $50 check to FFA members Eric Layman to help defray some of the costs of attending the convention. Other members attending are Bret Blymyer, Brad Long, Gary Keasler, Scott Stewart, Drew Fields, Brian Hines and Randy Kline.
• A jitney auction was the highlight of the Catholic ladies of Columbia’s monthly meeting with Bertha Schmelzer in charge. Bingo winner was Valeria Siefker, 50-50 winner, Mary Topp, Edna Baldauf, and Theresa Alspaugh and attendance Mary Hughes and Agnes Sadler.
• The Delphos Young Farmwives met recently in the home of Terri Miller. Marge LaFollette of “The Herb Barrel” gave a presentation on using herbs for cooking, medicinal and decorative purposes. The Young Farmwives will be participating in the Christmas Tree Festival at the Delphos Library. Committee members are Dee Dee Shelby, Kathy Renner, and Marlene Pohlman.

50 Years Ago — 1962
• An all-out one-day membership drive will be held by the Delphos Chamber of Commerce on Nov. 20, Mel Westrich, chairman of the membership committee, reported. The membership drive, designed particularly to recruit additional business firms and others into the Chamber of Commerce, will start with coffee. A dozen or so committee members will then spend most or all of the day contacting non-members to ask them to join.
• The cast for the junior class play at Delphos Jefferson High School “Mother Is a Freshman” which will be presented Nov. 16 in the auditorium has been announced by Winnifred Strayer, who is directing the production. Cast members include Ann Dienstberger, Carol Adam, Kathy Kissell, Paula Stetler, Eileen Brinkman, Susan Truesdale, Jeanne Mox, Kathy Lucas, Fred Lentz, Lynn Ladd, Monte Druckmiller, Kenneth Jackson, Neal Yocum, Charles Plikerd and Jeff Copeland.
• More than 600 persons were served at the recent Lions Club Pancake Day, it was announced by John Pitsenbarger, publicity chairman. Pitsenbarger, and the other chairmen, Gene Buettner, John Helton and Rod Tierman, expressed their appreciation of the community’s support at the regular meeting of the Delphos Lions this week.

75 Years Ago — 1937
• A most interesting session of the Delphos Kiwanis Club was held at the Beckman Hotel Tuesday evening when the members of the Van Wert Kiwanis Club joined the local Kiwanians for a joint session. Bruce Reed served as master of ceremonies and with the aid of his Van Wert friends, made the meeting a most enjoyable occasion. Among those who were called upon to speak were Robert Wilkinson, Benjamin Waitman, Ray Morton, Richard Webster and John Albright.
• Using six letterman as his nucleus, Coach L.  W. Heckman of the Ottoville High School, has prospects for a strong cage team this season. The following are the available lettermen:  Becker, Koester, Weber, Hoersten, Giesken and Leis. With the exception of Weber, these boys played every game last season. Weber saw action towards the end of the season.
• The K of C bowling teams will swing into action Wednesday night at the Delphos Recreation Club alleys. Team One is composed of Harold Lause, Don Imber, Charles Reinemeyer, Frank Scherger and Ralph Weger. Team Two is made up of Jerome Schmit, Robert Say, Henry Gemke, Jr., Eugene Gremling, Thomas Weger. Members of Team Three are Dr. Robert Brown, Herbert Fast, Richard Mueller, Walden Wannemacher, John Shenk. Those on Team Four are Paul Wulfhorst, Vincent Metzner, Arnold Hesseling, Carl Birkmeier, and Hubert Burger.


Add comment

Security code