Allen and Van Wert counties have announced candidates and issues for the March 17 Primary Election. Putnam County will have their ballots finalized and online next Tuesday.

Delphos voters will see two income tax measures. The first is the city’s 0.25-percent income tax renewal for the Parks and Recreation Department; the second is the Delphos City School’s 0.50-percent income tax for general operations.

The Parks and Rec income tax generates approximately $400,000 and was first approved in 2014.

The school’s income tax is new money and is certified to generate approximately $1,196,541 a year. If approved, this will be the first new money the district has received since 2005.

In the U.S. Congress Fourth District — serving Allen, Auglaize, Champaign, Crawford, Logan, Sandusky, Seneca, Shelby and Union counties along with areas of Erie, Huron, Lorain, Marion and Mercer counties — incumbent Republican Jim Jordan will face off with Democrats Shannon Freshour, Mike Larsen and Jeffery Sites, as well as Libertarian Steve Perkins.

Republican State Senator Matt Huffman is opposed by Democrat Ken Poling of Lima and State Representative Bob Cupp (R) is facing write-in candidate Libertarian Christina Holloway from Lafayette.

Two Supreme Court Justice seats are open with sitting Republican Sharon Kennedy against Democrat John O’Donnell for the Jan. 1, 2021, seat; and sitting Republican Jude French against Democrat Jennifer Brunner vying for the Jan. 2, 2021, seat.

Republican Cory Noonan is unopposed for his Allen County Commissioner seat; and the seat vacated by the retiring Greg Sneary will be fought for by Republicans Judy Augsburger of Bluffton, Beth Siebert, Tim Sielschott and Greg Stolly of Lima and Alan Tyrrell Jr. of Elida; and Democrat Norman Capps of Lima.

Unopposed on March 17 are Allen County Prosecuting Attorney Juergen Waldick, Clerk of Court (Common Pleas) Margie Murphy Miller, Sheriff Matt Treglia, County Recorder Mona Losh and County Engineer Brion Rhodes.

The Van Wert County Board of Election has released the following candidates:

Commissioner (1/2 term)

Todd Wolfrum

Commissioner (1/3 term)

Stan Owens


Thomas M. Riggenbach


Kim Hughes


Gerald T. Mazur

Jeff McIntosh


Kyle J. Wendel


Eva J. Yarger

Clerk of Courts

Cynthia L. Mollenkopf


Scott W. Jarvis

Judge (Probate/Juvenile) (Vote for not more than 1)

Scott Gordon

Kevin H. Taylor