Josh Gillespie will be Delphos’ new mayor as soon as the votes are certified.

Gillespie beat his opponents Doug Mullenhour, current Mayor John Parent and Wayne Suever handily, garnering 54 percent of the vote with 826. Mullenour earned 246 votes with Parent getting 287 and Suever 234.

The former councilman has plans for his first day in office.

“I want to sit down and get to work on the 2018 budget so we can get it prepared and submit it to council,” Gillespie said. “I want to show we can keep the SAFER employees without adding to the budget.”

Gillespie said he will also get to work forming committees that consist of citizens to increase the public’s involvement in what happens in the city.

Gillespie thanked his supporters.

“Together, we are going to make Delphos a better place and it’s going to start now,” he added.

All other city races were unopposed, including Nichole Coil for council president, Robert Mosier for treasurer and Andrew Daley for 1st Ward Council.

No candidate has filed in time for the 2nd or 3rd ward seats which are held by Jim Fortener and Del Kemper, respectively. Fortener, who was appointed to the seat in 2014, is not seeking re-election but will hold the seat unless he officially resigns. Jeff Klausing, who drew two votes, will take Kemper’s seat.

Andy North and Erica Pimpas were also unopposed for their seats on the Delphos City School Board. There will still be a vacancy on the board as Brent Gable did not seek re-election.

Howard Violet and Gary Mack took the Marion Township trusteeships, beating out incumbent Joe Youngpeter and Bret Blymyer, Joe Burgei and Reid Thompson.

An issue facing Spencerville Local School District voters is a 1-percent income tax renewal for the school for current expenses passed easily as did other area school initiatives.

Ottoville had no contested races with Carl Byrne, Karen Hoersten, Darren Leis and Jerry Markward to fill the four village council seats; Rodney Beining and Steve Hilvers unopposed for Monterey Township trustees; and Marilyn Calvelage, Kevin Landin and Kim Wannemacher will retain their seats on the Ottoville School Board.

No one filed for the four open Fort Jennings Village Council seats. Grace Dickman, Duane Hoersten, Walter Pitney and Randy Wieging will retain those seats unless they resign. Timothy Fitzpatrick, Karl Schimmoeller and Eva Von Sossan took the three open seats on the Fort Jennings School Board.

Jennings Township voters passed a 1.5-mill, 5-year levy renewal for fire protection 476 to 86 and Chad Niese was unopposed for Putnam County Municipal Court judge.

The Putnam County Council on Aging 5-year replacement levy for .60 mills passed easily with 7,613 for and 1,770 against; and a .50-mill renewal for the Putnam County General Health District passed 6,957 to 2,354.

In Van Wert County, Municipal Court Judge Jill Leatherman was unopposed, as were four Village of Middle Point residents for council seats, including Briana Geiger, Tonya Hoghe, Brenda Mengerink and Wayne Richardson. Bob Trentman and Tom Odenweller were unopposed for Washington Township trustee.

Five candidates vied for three positions on the Lincolnview School Board, including Scott Miller, Lori Eversole Snyder, Mark Zielke, Eric Germann taking the majority of votes beating out Amy Lauf and incumbent Scott Miller.

An .8-mill, 5-year renewal levy for Vantage Career Center for current expenses passed with 75 percent of voters giving it the nod.

Voters were decisive on the state issues with Issue 1 passing at 84 percent and Issue 2 failed with 79 percent of voters turning it down.