Landon Elwer of St. John’s takes a jumper in Friday’s contest with Coldwater. (DHI Media/Joe Dray)
Landon Elwer of St. John’s takes a jumper in Friday’s contest with Coldwater. (DHI Media/Joe Dray)
DELPHOS — St. John’s closed out their regular season with a 52-32 loss to Coldwater Friday night. Carson Muhlenkamp led the Cavaliers with 11 points including three from behind the arc. Landon Elwer was the top scorer for the Blue Jays with 11 points and added four assists and three rebounds.

St. John’s scored two quick baskets to open the game and held a 4-2 lead before Coldwater finished out the first quarter on a 10-0 run. Muhlenkamp and Kevin Fisher each hit 3-pointers for the Cavs and their defense held the Blue Jays to four points to lead 12-4 after one.

The Jays were 9-40 from the field for 23 percent but shot well at the charity stripe, going 11-for-14, 85 percent. The Cavs hit seven 3-pointers in the game on 17 attempts and were 22-of-41 from the field for 54 percent. Coldwater also won the rebound battle 23-14 and forced 10 turnovers.

The Cavs were hot in the second quarter, hitting four from downtown as they outscored St. John’s 22-10. Coldwater took a 20-point lead into the break, leading 34-14.

Scoring was hard to come by for both teams in the second half. Brenden Oleson and Jason Gillespie connected from long range for the Jays but they failed to make up any ground on the visiting Cavaliers in the third quarter. Coldwater held a 43-23 lead after three.

Landen Grothaus scored five points in the final 8:00 and Elwer had eight but the Cavs had an answer for every Blue Jay point in the fourth quarter. Coldwater slowed the pace near the end of the game and came away with a 20-point victory over St. John’s to end the regular season.

The Blue Jays fall to 6-15 (0-9 MAC) and will face Leipsic in the sectional semifinal Wednesday.

Coldwater (52)

Carson Muhlenkamp 11, Ethan Post 9, Zach Muhlenkamp 7, Myles Blasingame 5, Kevin Fisher 5, Tyler Schwieterman 4, Isaac Schoen 2

St. John’s (32)

Landon Elwer 11, Landen Grothaus 8, Jason Gillespie 6, Brenden Oleson 3, JJ Bonifas 2, Matthew Kahny 2