WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. – As the delegates gather for the 103rd PGA Annual Meeting at the Hilton West Palm Beach and Palm Beach Convention Center, Nov. 4-8, a focus on the future of leadership will be front and center, as the PGA of America unveils an evolved strategic plan to drive the Association into a new decade.

The week will kick off with the biennial PGA of America Hall of Fame Ceremony and Distinguished Service Award Presentation on Tuesday, Nov. 5, hosted by NBC/Golf Channel’s Jimmy Roberts. The PGA of America Hall of Fame originated in 1940, at the suggestion of famed sportswriter Grantland Rice. It is the highest honor that the PGA of America can bestow upon its membership or ambassadors of golf. The 2019 inductees include:

Davis Love III, PGA

Annika Sorenstam, PGA/LPGA

Shirley Spork, LPGA

Dave Marr II, PGA (deceased)

Karsten Solheim (deceased)

PGA Past President Derek Sprague, PGA

In addition, Barbara Nicklaus will receive the PGA Distinguished Service Award during the PGA of America Hall of Fame banquet. Inaugurated in 1988, this award honors outstanding individuals who display leadership and humanitarian qualities, including integrity, sportsmanship and a passion for the game of golf. Barbara is the chair and co-founder of Nicklaus Children’s Health Care Foundation, which was established in 2004 to support numerous pediatric healthcare services in South Florida and across the United States. Jack Nicklaus was awarded the PGA Distinguished Service Award in 2000. They are the second husband-wife duo to receive the award (Mark and Debi Rolfing – 2017).

The 2019 PGA of America National Awards Ceremony*, will be held on Thursday, Nov. 7, hosted by Dave Marr III. The PGA will recognize the awards winners for their unwavering commitment to represent the PGA Professional and the game of golf at the highest levels. PGA Golf Professional of the Year Eric Eshleman, PGA Director of Golf at the Country Club of Birmingham (Ala.); and PGA Teacher of the Year Kevin Kirk, PGA Director of Golf Instruction at The Woodlands (Texas) Golf Performance Center lead a class of 12 honorees:*

PGA Golf Professional of the Year: Eric Eshleman, PGA, Country Club of Birmingham (Ala.)

PGA Teacher of the Year: Kevin Kirk, PGA, The Woodlands (Texas) Golf Performance Center

Bill Strausbaugh Award: David Reasoner, PGA, Ridgewood Country Club - Paramus, N.J.

Horton Smith Award: Todd Sones, PGA, Todd Sones Impact Golf - Vernon Hills, Ill.

Deacon Palmer Award: Randy Jones, PGA, Club Car - Richmond, Texas

Patriot Award: Judy Alvarez, PGA/LPGA, Monarch Country Club - Palm City, Fla.

PGA Player Development Award: Liz Cooper, PGA/LPGA, Springfield (Va.) G. & C.C.

PGA Youth Player Development Award: Scott Wilson, PGA, Bay Meadows Family Golf Course - Traverse City, Mich.

* The Herb Graffis Award will be presented to the South Florida Section during Friday’s General Session. The three PGA Merchandisers of the Year—Scott Kirkwood, PGA (Private Category), Duncan Simms, PGA (Public Category) and Sara Muldoon, PGA (Resort Category)—will receive their awards in conjunction with the 2020 PGA Merchandise Show in January.

The Welcome Session begins with PGA President Suzy Whaley, PGA presenting her remarks to the delegation on Wednesday, Nov. 6. PGA of America Officers and the Executive Management Team will take part in roundtable discussions, providing an Association update. A presentation on PGA REACH will lead into a discussion on two resolutions.

Friday, Nov. 8, the final day of the 103rd PGA Annual Meeting, features the General Session, highlighted by Keynote Speaker Dr. Olenda Johnson, Professor of Leadership and Ethics with the Naval War College in Newport, Rhode Island. Johnson will address keys to successful leadership in a changing environment. Similarly, the session will also include a presentation on “Changing the Operating Model for a Better Future.”

The South Florida PGA Section will be presented the 2019 Herb Graffis Award and PGA Past President Roger Warren, PGA will be honored as a Legend of the PGA, while all outgoing District Directors, Board of Control Members and Section Presidents will be recognized for their service. The installation of the new Officers and Board of Directors will also occur. The incoming District Directors are:

District 1: Ian Marshall, PGA – Watertown (Conn.) Golf Club

(Connecticut, New England, NENY)

District 5: Brian Jones, PGA - Kenwood Country Club - Cincinnati

(Michigan, Northern Ohio, Southern Ohio)

District 10: John Madden, PGA – River Bend Golf & Country Club. – Great Falls, Va.

(Carolinas, Kentucky, Middle Atlantic)

District 13: Mark VanDyck, PGA – Fort Lauderdale Country Club – Plantation, Fla.

(Georgia, North Florida, South Florida)

District 14: Doug Doxsie, PGA – Seattle Golf Club – Shoreline, Wash.

(Pacific Northwest, Southwest)

Independent: Lori Lee – AT&T International CEO/AT&T Inc. Global Marketing Officer -Dallas

Independent: Chris Liedel – U.S. Olympic Museum & HOF CEO – Colorado Springs, Colo. –

(Liedel was renewed for a second three-year term)